Confluence cover 04.16.19In CONFLUENCE: NAVIGATING THE PERSONAL & POLITICAL ON RIVERS OF THE NEW WEST, paddler and journalist Zak Podmore takes readers down Western rivers and deep into some of the most pressing environmental and social justice issues of our time, including uranium tailings on the Ute Mountain Ute lands near the San Juan River, the treatment of asylum-seekers crossing the Rio Grande, and one of the largest dam removal projects in history on Washington’s Elwha River. Moving and provocative, CONFLUENCE follows in the tradition of Thoreau or Edward Abbey — it takes us into the wild but always has one eye turned back toward the blessings and ills of civilization.

 

Advance Praise for Confluence

“Zak Podmore has written a book of promise: a promise that beauty matters; a promise that history lives through us; a promise that the Colorado River teaches us about life and death and the depth of both. But most of all, Confluence is a book that carries an authentic voice forward. I believe in this writer named Zak Podmore because he cares, fiercely.” —Terry Tempest Williams, author of Erosion: Essays of Undoing

“An ambitious, adventurous ride…Zak Podmore has unleashed the kind of storytelling that will inspire the next great wave of ecological activism—and not a moment too soon.” —AMY IRVINE, author of Desert Cabal

“These essays combine an adventurer’s soul with a philosopher’s head. Kudos to Zak Podmore, a fresh new voice from the West.” —PHILIP CONNORS, author of A Song for the River

“The publication of Confluence marks the arrival of an important new voice in the West.” —DAVID GESSNER, author of Ultimate Glory and All the Wild that Remains

“A profoundly personal and philosophical look at Western rivers and their value to all souls.” —ANDY NETTELL, owner of Back of Beyond Books

“dude can write.” —Facebook comment

Torrey House Press is the intermountain West’s only nonprofit literary book publisher, and the only independent publisher in the country with a mission to promote conservation through literature.

Pre-Order Now:

IndieBound logo

THP_RGB_Large